Within the NEAT scheme of delegation we have agreed that the local governing committee of each non-religious school will have the following members:
  • two parent members (elected by parents of pupils at the school)
  • one staff member (elected by staff of the school)
  • headteacher member (ex-officio)
  • eight members approved by the NEAT board of directors.
With the exception of the headteacher and staff members, all local governing committee members are volunteers although they may claim expenses under certain circumstances.
We publish profiles of each of our local governing committee members.
The terms of office of all members are four years, except:
  • any co-opted governors where the term of office is one year
  • ex-officio appointments which are based on the person holding a particular office and continue as long as the person remains in post.